How do you score the Geriatric Depression Scale?

How do you score a Geriatric Depression Scale?

Scores of 0-4 are considered normal, depending on age, education, and complaints; 5-8 indicate mild depression; 9-11 indicate moderate depression; and 12-15 indicate severe depression.

What is Geriatric Depression Scale Short Form?

The Geriatric Depression Scale: Short Form is a 15-question screening tool for depression in older adults that takes five to seven minutes to complete and can be filled out by the patient or administered by a provider with minimal training in its use.

What is the 15 item Geriatric Depression Scale?

The 15-item Geriatric Depression Scale (GDS-15),15 consisting of a series of yes/no questions, is a widely used instrument for the screening of depression in the elderly and in medically ill populations.

What is the minimum score to indicate depression?

No arbitrary cutoff score for all purposes to classify different degrees of depression. The following guidelines have been suggested to interpret the BDI-II (3): minimal range = 0–13, mild depression = 14–19, moderate depression = 20–28, and severe depression = 29–63.

How reliable is the Geriatric Depression Scale?

The analysis performed considering DSM-5 criteria revealed that the sensitivity, specificity, positive predictive value, and negative predictive value of GDS-15 in determining depression were 92%, 91%, 76%, and 97%, respectively, when the cutoff value was taken as ≥5.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Why did farmers destroy their crops during the Great Depression?

What is the purpose of Geriatric Depression Scale?

The Geriatric Depression Scale (GDS) was designed specifically to screen for depression in geriatric populations. Therefore, it taps the affective and behavioral symptoms of depression and excludes most symptoms that may be confused with somatic disease (e.g., slowness, insomnia, hyposexuality) or dementia.

What is the Cornell Scale for Depression in Dementia?

The Cornell Scale for Depression in Dementia (CSDD) is a way to screen for symptoms of depression in someone who has dementia. Unlike other scales and screens for depression, the CSDD takes into account additional signs of depression that might not be clearly verbalized by a person.

What does a PHQ-9 score mean?

Depression Severity: 0-4 none, 5-9 mild, 10-14 moderate, 15-19 moderately severe, 20-27 severe. … PHQ-9 score ≥10 had a sensitivity of 88% and a specificity of 88% for major depression. It can even be used over the telephone.

What is the PHQ 9 used for?

At the initial visit for depression care the PHQ-9 is used to assist with diagnosis and identification of problem symptoms. At the follow-up visit, the PHQ-9 is used to measure treatment response and identify specific symptoms that are not responding.

How old is geriatric?

Geriatrics refers to medical care for older adults, an age group that is not easy to define precisely. “Older” is preferred over “elderly,” but both are equally imprecise; > 65 is the age often used, but most people do not need geriatrics expertise in their care until age 70, 75, or even 80.

Psychoactive drugs and substances